Friday, May 14

Deep Space Network: A Discussion on NASA's Vital Lifeline to Spacecraft

Deep Space Network: A Discussion on NASA's Vital Lifeline to Spacecraft

Original airdate: Thursday, Nov. 8 at 7 p.m. PT
(10 p.m. ET, 0200 UTC)

How does NASA capture the faint whispers of spacecraft voyaging to far flung destinations across the solar system? The answer involves giant radio antennas, global cooperation, and a LOT of careful planning. NASA’s Deep Space Network is a vital lifeline between Earth and the spacecraft that extend our senses outward. This panel-style discussion will share how the network turns radio waves into science and engineering data, along with plans for the DSN’s future.

Speakers:
Suzanne Dodd – Director, Interplanetary Network, JPL
Leslie Deutsch – Deputy Director, Interplanetary Network, JPL

Follow us on your favorite social media platforms for updates @NASAJPL.